Welcome to Mathern Community Council

Mathern Community  Council is the grass roots voice of local government for Mathern, Mounton and Pwllmeyric and comprises nine local Councillors. Meetings are normally held on the second Monday of each month in the small meeting room at Mathern Village Hall.

Councillor David Merrett –
Councillor Carolyn Ovenden – Chairman
Councillor David Harris – Vice Chairman
Councillor Christine Morton
Councillor Martin McHugh
Councillor Nina Bailey
Councillor Graham Down
Councillor Jayne Harris
Councillor Frank Sainsbury
The Clerk to the Council is Mrs Jane Kelley.

The Community is represented on Monmouthhire County Council by County Councillor Louise Brown.

Each year the Council sets a “precept” on the Council Tax as a means of raising funds from the community for reinvestment in the community for communal benefit.

The next Community Council election will be held in 2021. If a vacancy arises during the four year term the Council will advertise the vacancy and invite members of the community to apply to be co-opted to the Community Council Committee.